Audi e-tron Forum – News, Specs, Pricing & Ownership… banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear E-Tron owners,
I am planning to purchase an E-Tron 50 Quattro launch edition (2020) or E-Tron 55 Quattro (2019) Audi Approved .I am kind of confused which one to buy as they are both at the same price range. The 50 has 45 miles (important extras) where as the 55 has 12,500 miles plus full extras.Which one do you suggest as i am new to Audi .My cars have always been BMW’s.Someone knows what is the life span of the battery especially when the 8 years guarantee passes .I know it will cost a lot of money to replace it where i have been told its not worth it to change if this problem occur.Thank you and awaiting for your feedback

·
Registered
294 Posts
Of course it depends on how it was charged, but 12,500mi is not that many miles for an EV. I understand that the 50 gets about 50mi less on a full charge. For me, that would be a big negative. Long term, the EV market is evolving at a very rapid pace, with many different versions and capabilities as manufacturers and drivers try to settle on what works. I doubt you will be interested in keeping whichever car you get for 8 years.

·
Registered
43 Posts
It is hard to predict what the battery life will be for the e-tron, especially being a first generation EV.

That being said though, Audi seems to be overly cautious and aware of degradation concerns with EVs. A few items that I'm aware of that tell me they are cautious:

1) 95kwh battery with a range of 204 miles. The weight and aero of the car play into range, but so does the thermal management system. From what I've read, Audi has invested a lot in the thermal management systems of the e-tron. According to a 2019 paper on EV battery thermal management, "Efficient temperature management systems contribute significantly to battery health and extend the overall lifespan." How battery thermal management systems impact EV battery performance