Audi e-tron Forum – News, Specs, Pricing & Ownership… banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

This is my first time owning an electric vehicle. Is there any Donts I should be aware of that are not with a ICE car?
For example while washing the car is There anything I should be aware of so I dont get moisture in the batteries ?
If im off-roading or at a bad damaged road where there is standing water, am I to avoid taking the car there so the water doesnt damage the batteries? as in do I have to take extra precaution because It’s an EV or just treat it like a ICE car in such a situation.
any other things I should be aware of? sorryfor the noob questions, like I said it’s my first time owning a EV.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Don'ts - Don't obsess with the efficiency read-outs. We didn't need to with ICE cars and we needn't with this particular EV (nor most EVs).

If you hammer it, range decreases just like an ICE.
If you do short journeys the battery and motor are cold and less efficient, so efficiency and overall range will decrease just like an ICE.
If the weather is favourable, you will go further than usual just like an ICE.
If the weather is cold/wet/windy, you won't go as far just like an ICE.
Manufacturers' range and efficiency ratings are optimistic, just like with ICEs.

ICE vehicles had a more energy dense fuel so range was less of an issue. MPG or litres per kilometer or kilometers per litre etc were figures we'd not pay much attention to.
EVs tend to have smaller range but the same, above, principles apply. Yet everyone is fixated with squeezing as much efficiency out of their EV.

The GOM - guess o'meter - is pretty good on this car. Try not to fret about efficiency, the car will tell you how far you're gonna go with the remaining charge (better than ICE versions IMO).

DON'T hold back on enjoying the car. Recharge over night. It'll still be cheaper to run than your old ICE!

·
Registered
25 Posts