Audi e-tron Forum – News, Specs, Pricing & Ownership… banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
To be delivered - Typhoon gray Audi e-tron 50 Technik quattro
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm still waiting a confirmed delivery date, which is supposed to be in April. Pod-Point have emailed to start the order process, but as I'm new to EV's I'm wondering which is the best Pod-Point option to go for, tethered or universal charger? The way things are going, my wife will be going with an EV in a year or two and I'm thinking the universal option would be best to cater for a second unknown EV.

So, next decision is what type of cable for home charging, type 1 or type 2? Any advice for a complete EV newbie?

·
Registered
74 Posts
Unless you don't like the aesthetics of how the Podpoint looks with the cable wrapped around it then get tethered. I'm not sure there'll be any new model EV that doesn't use Type 2 these days as well so that'll future proof you and cover you for any Audi. By getting tethered you effectively get a cable worth a couple of hundred quid for free too.

The alternative is untethered and then you'd either have to buy a spare Type 2 cable to have for home charging that you unplug and wrap up and put away every day, or put the wet cable that comes with your EV (it is the UK after all) in your boot every morning after charging.

·
Registered
30 Posts
I had a tethered type 2 Pod Point installed last week. Seems the obvious choice really.

My car is due in July so I can’t comment on how it works!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks both, I've gone for the tethered option based on your advice.

·
Registered
78 Posts